Here is the full report from postmaster:
This report relates to a message you sent with the following header fields:
Message-id: <007e01c6feb3$9831f610$530aa8c0@NICKIHP>
Date: Thu, 02 Nov 2006 11:17:51 -0800
From: Person <useername@mydomain.com>
To: recipient@remotedomain.com
Subject: FW: Subject Line
Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:
Recipient address: recipient@remotedomain.com
Reason: Remote SMTP server has rejected address
Diagnostic code: smtp;550-Verification failed for <useername@mydomain.com> unrouteable mail domain "mydomain.com" Sender verify failed
Remote system: dns;remotedomain.com (TCP|10.0.0.14|63998|70.86.4.20|25) (miranda.cyberservers.net ESMTP Exim 4.52 #1 Thu, 02 Nov 2006 13:18:08 -0600 )
Ok, what it means:
The server you're attempting to send to is checking your domain for a proper DNS entry, and isn't finding it.
This could be because:
1. your server is not giving the correct/matching address for your user and itself.
2. You don't have valid DNS entries for "mydomain.com"
3. The server on the other side is misconfigured.
Hi,
1) How can I make sure that my server is giving the correct/matching address for my user and itself?
2) I have valid DNS and reverse DNS entries for mydomain.com. However, I wonder how the remote server was aware of the internal IP address of my server - 10.0.0.14. This can be seen in the postmaster report above like Remote system: dns;remotedomain.com (TCP|10.0.0.14|63998|70.86.4.20|25) ?
Thanks,
Messaging Server gets the system name from the /etc/hosts file. It will pick the first instance of it's own name. Solaris insists on putting a "short name" thiere by default, so editing that file is good practice.
You can also override the default in your imta.cnf. Locate the "part II channel blocks" section, and then drop down to the tcp_local definition.
There are three lines:
!comment describing the channel
channel keywords
tcp_local_daemon
add to the third line what want your server to represent itself as:
tcp-local_daemon myserver.mydomain.com
run:
imsimta cnbuild
imsimta reload
Hi,
> 2) I have valid DNS and reverse DNS entries for
> mydomain.com. However, I wonder how the remote server
> was aware of the internal IP address of my server -
> 10.0.0.14. This can be seen in the postmaster report
> above like Remote system: dns;remotedomain.com
> (TCP|10.0.0.14|63998|70.86.4.20|25) ?
Please provide the *actual* response rather then the munged version i.e "Diagnostic code: smtp;550-Verification failed for <useername@mydomain.com> unrouteable mail domain "mydomain.com" Sender verify failed"
That way we can verify outside of your network whether the real domain listed in the email address is indeed correct and externally visible.
With regards to the remote server 'seeing' your IP address, well it can't. The address listed is not route-able across the internet. The bounce message was most likely created by your server but as you didn't supply all of the headers of the message I can't tell for sure.
Regards,
Shane.
Hi,
I did the suggested modification in imta.cnf, and then tested to send to that original domain. And it failed again. Here is the postmaster report I got for that:
This report relates to a message you sent with the following header fields:
Message-id: <JCEFIADJBLOJOABBMADHKEANMCAB.me@salescentrix.com>
Date: Fri, 03 Nov 2006 12:37:47 -0800
From: ME <me@salescentrix.com>
To: somebody@davidalanb.com
Subject: Email failure
Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:
Recipient address: somebody@davidalanb.com
Reason: Remote SMTP server has rejected address
Diagnostic code: smtp;550-Verification failed for <me@salescentrix.com> unrouteable mail domain "salescentrix.com" Sender verify failed
Remote system: dns;davidalanb.com (TCP|10.0.0.14|35776|70.86.4.20|25) (miranda.cyberservers.net ESMTP Exim 4.52 #1 Fri, 03 Nov 2006 14:39:53 -0600 )
Then, I send another email to my yahoo address to see the details of the header fields. Here is the full headers of a message sent from me to my yahoo address:
X-Apparently-To: me_outside@yahoo.com via 68.142.198.149; Fri, 03 Nov 2006 12:57:09 -0800
X-Originating-IP:[149.99.243.125]
Return-Path:<me@salescentrix.com>
Authentication-Results:mta249.mail.re2.yahoo.com from=salescentrix.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received:from 149.99.243.125 (EHLO mail.salescentrix.com) (149.99.243.125) by mta249.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 03 Nov 2006 12:57:09 -0800
Received:from MACHINE ([149.99.243.122]) by lithium.salescentrix.com (Sun Java System Messaging Server 6.2-3.04 (built Jul 15 2005)) with SMTP id <0J8600HHTA4FHM10@lithium.salescentrix.com> for me_outside@yahoo.com; Fri, 03 Nov 2006 12:55:28 -0800 (PST)
Date:Fri, 03 Nov 2006 12:55:07 -0800
From:"Me" <me@salescentrix.com> View Contact Details View Contact Details
Subject:t
To:me_outside@yahoo.com
Message-id:<JCEFIADJBLOJOABBMADHGEAOMCAB.me@salescentrix.com>
MIME-version:1.0
X-MIMEOLE:Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2962
X-Mailer:Microsoft Outlook IMO, Build 9.0.6604 (9.0.2911.0)
Content-type:multipart/alternative; boundary="Boundary_(ID_aVkXilL/GbOX7zYrFvbFJg)"
Importance:Normal
X-Priority:3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-priority:Normal
Content-Length:685
I did as you suggested. I assume it failed again. Look at the last response from the remote server starting with 550:
lithium# telnet davidalanb.com 25
Trying 70.86.4.20...
Connected to davidalanb.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
220-miranda.cyberservers.net ESMTP Exim 4.52 #1 Fri, 03 Nov 2006 16:11:40 -0600
220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
220 and/or bulk e-mail.
MAIL FROM:me@salescentrix.com
250 OK
RCPT TO:remote_user@davidalanb.com
250 Accepted
DATA
354 Enter message, ending with "." on a line by itself
This is just a test message.
.
550 Administrative prohibition
quit
221 miranda.cyberservers.net closing connection
Connection to davidalanb.com closed by foreign host.
Any comments!
thanks,